Vermont Club Sports Blog

October 14, 2009

Day 2 – and the challenges begin

Filed under: Uncategorized — leonuvm @ 7:35 pm

Day 2 has come and gone and an interesting day it was.  Definitely stepped out of my comfort zone with the endeavors of the day, but as usual my gracious hosts were nothing short of wonderful.

Men’s Club Soccer was first on the docket.  The team had an incredible turnout with regionals looming this weekend so I mostly loomed on the sideline and took the brunt of the hail storm standing still.  I did get to play some 5 v 5 later in the practice and show off my lack of soccer skills.  I had one or two good ‘balls’ and ‘touches’ as apparently they call it in soccer to go along with a brutal giveaway and a weak left footed shot (although it was my first ever left footed shot, my first first of this tour!).  As the team got together to go through some plays it was time to bid adieu and wish them luck this upcoming weekend when they venture south for the 40 team regional tournament and have a chance to do some damage.

After warming up at home I picked up my fancy new iphones to begin my surveys and hone my serve at tennis practice.  Unfortunately my technological ineptitude held me up and the remaining tennis ballers were on their way out the door.  I did coax them into some fun surveys, mostly with the lure of playing with iphones (I mean who can resist, there is an app for everything!  Feel free to list your favorite in the comments section) but unfortunately my serve remains horrendous.

No worries though as Salsa lessons were to follow across the hall.  A solid crowd of 50-60 showed up despite the late hour and stormy weather.  I chose to bring my own dance partner (thanks Courtney!) but learned quickly that everyone dances with everyone throughout the lesson!  Fortunately I stepped on noones feet much to the great teaching of Brett and Eliza as they took the dozen or so newcomers aside.  This was my biggests challenge thus far though as it deviated from the more traditional athletic skills that I am used to.  Nonetheless, it was great to see the club’s leaders including Bill and Hannah leading the troops through such well structured, and fun, lessons.  Seeing our leaders rise to the challenges of nearly 60 students in a big room at all different levels affirms what great people we have here at UVM.

Can’t make it to a lesson but want to learn some basic steps?  Check out the club’s instructional video:

In the words of John Turtoro in Mr. Deeds, “Flamingo lessons for everyone!!!!”

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

